16 clubs awarded Clubmark status

16 Gloucestershire clubs have been awarded Clubmark status –  including five who have received the accreditation for the first time.

The ECB scheme – which is licensed by Sport England – is an official way of recognising clubs that are sustainable, well run and provide the right environment for their members.

Bishopston, Down Hatherley, Hatherley and Reddings (pictured), Pak Bristolians and Stapleton have all become Clubmark clubs for the first time while Cheltenham Civil Service hopes to join them.

Gloucestershire Cricket Board (GCB) clubs and programmes officer (south) John Peplow said: “

The Clubmark process is designed to ensure that accredited clubs are recognised as safe, rewarding and fulfilling places for participants of all ages. As well as ensuring clubs are run the right way this also provides assurances to parents, carers and players that they are choosing a supportive, welcoming environment in which to play their cricket.

“It is fantastic that many of our clubs have maintained their standards by achieving reaccreditation and we are pleased to see a number of new clubs complete the process for the first time.”

- John Peplow

Clubmark – which moved online in 2017 –  is achieved by clubs providing evidence to meet a wide-ranging criteria. Some of this is done by submitting documents while some points must be witnessed during a site visit from a GCB Clubmark officer. Coaching activities are observed and the club has the opportunity to discuss what they have done to meet the criteria.

To receive accreditation clubs need to demonstrate that they provide a welcoming atmosphere and offer opportunities for a diverse range of participants. They also need to show they are financially sound with a constitution, committee and insurance. Clubs must also meet exacting criteria on safeguarding including vetting coaches and having a qualified welfare officer. For the full range of criteria click below.

ECB-Clubmark-Criteria-2017 (1)

Clubmark has become a prerequisite of all West of England Premier League (WEPL) clubs and those joining it. Clubmark status last for three years, with clubs having to complete an annual health check each year prior to reaccreditation.

In addition to the 16 clubs who have achieved accreditation in 2017, only two failed to make the grade and a further 25 successfully completed their annual health checks.

GCB chief executive Steve Silk said: “I would like to congratulate all the clubs who have been awarded Clubmark status and to those who have successfully undergone their annual health checks. I would also like to personally thank the GCB staff members who have worked tirelessly to supported clubs in achieving this. The large number of successful clubs is testament to their hard work, professionalism and the personal interest they have taken in ensuring clubs meet the criteria.”

For a full list please see below.

New Clubmark Clubs 2017
Down Hatherley
Hatherley and Reddings
Pak Bristolians
Clubmark Reaccredited Clubs 2017

Bourton Vale
Clubmark Annual Health Check Clubs
Aston Ingham

Bristol Phoenix
Bristol YMCA
Carsons & Mangotsfield
Charlton Kings
Chipping Sodbury
Corse & Staunton
Gloucester City Winget
Great Rissington
North Cotswold Young Cricketers
Old Down
Twyford House